BusinessEducation

Concealed Carry Arizona: Your State’s Concealed Firearm Laws Explained

Concealed carry in Arizona is a right that many people take for granted – after all, it’s something that most of us do without thinking about it. But what about in states where concealed firearms are not allowed? In this article, we’ll take a look at the laws in Arizona, and explain what you need to know in order to legally carry a concealed firearm there.

What is a Concealed Firearm?

A concealed firearm is any handgun or long gun that is not openly displayed on the person. It is illegal in Arizona to carry a concealed firearm without a permit.

To get a concealed carry permit, you must be at least 21 years of age, pass an FBI criminal history check, and demonstrate competence with a handgun. You must also meet certain geographical requirements, including being within a certain number of miles of a shooting range.

If you are carrying a concealed firearm without a permit, you are guilty of a class 6 felony. If you are carrying a concealed firearm with a permit but without proper documentation or identification, you are guilty of a class 3 misdemeanor.

Requirements for Concealed Carry in Arizona

In order to carry a concealed handgun in Arizona, you must meet the following requirements:

-You must be at least 21 years old. You must have a valid Arizona driver’s license or state ID card.

-You must be a U.S. citizen or legal permanent resident and must not have a felony record.

-You must not be under indictment for any crime and you must not be an unlawful user of, or addicted to, drugs or alcohol.

-You must have completed a firearms safety training course that meets the standards of the Arizona Department of Public Safety (DPS). And must provide proof of training with your application for a concealed carry permit.

If you are not a U.S. citizen, you may apply for a nonimmigrant visa to carry a concealed handgun if you are meeting all other eligibility requirements and can provide proof that you have completed the firearms safety training course and will use your weapon in a safe manner.

Arizona’s Concealed Firearm Laws by County

Concealed carry in Arizona is allowed by law in all counties with some exceptions. The following is a list of the counties in Arizona and their concealed firearm laws.

Maricopa County: The state’s largest county covers much of Phoenix, including the wealthy suburbs of Scottsdale and Paradise Valley. It has a “may issue” policy, meaning that a sheriff can deny a license if he or she believes that the applicant may be dangerous.

Pima County: Tucson is the county seat and Pima County is home to many gun rights advocates. It has a “shall issue” policy, meaning that a sheriff cannot deny a license to someone who meets the requirements.

Mohave County: Kingman is the county seat and Mohave County is home to many gun stores and ranges. It also has a “shall issue” policy.

Conclusion

As a law-abiding citizen, you should be aware of the concealed firearm laws in your state. This article will provide you with an overview of Arizona’s concealed firearm laws, including what type of firearms are allowed to be carried in public and which types of permits are required.

Armed with this information, you can make informed decisions about whether or not to carry firearm training for self-defense or recreation. Check out Arizona Home Defense. They provide firearms self-defense courses and how to get concealed carry permits. Their instructor provides training to the beginners as well as experienced. Visit now!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button